IEEE Young Professionals at the IEEE VIC Summit & Honors Ceremony
June 21, 2018

IEEE Young Professionals had an evening of drinks and casual networking a day before the IEEE VIC Summit & Honors Ceremony on Thursday 10th May 2018 at the Palace Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco. This is the third consecutive year that IEEE Young Professionals had a meetup within the IEEE VIC Summit & Honors Ceremony.

Rafal Sliz, IEEE Young Professionals Chair 2018, started the gathering by introducing the invited guests for the evening. Jim Jefferies, IEEE President 2018, welcomed everyone to the gathering.  Also, a speaker at the event, IEEE Edison Medal Recipient, Eli Yablonovitch, spoke about his leadership, innovations, and entrepreneurial achievements in photonics, semiconductor lasers, antennas, and solar cells.

87 attendees showed up at the meetup including members from IEEE OUS, Marconi Society, Awards Board, and IEEE Board.

The Marconi Society had a designated area during the event where the guests could stop by to learn more about the program and meet a past Young Scholar winner – Ken Pesyna (recognized in 2015).  

Many speakers from the VIC summit stopped by at the meetup as well, including Grant Imahara who is well known for his work in the field of engineering, especially robotics and being a member of the cast on the famous TV show – MythBusters.

The meetup gave attendees a chance to be alongside people from a variety of backgrounds who are interested in advancing technology for humanity.

See a live video that was featured on our Facebook page from the meet up here.


Article by Kristen Mahan, Program Specialist, IEEE Young Professionals & Dinuka Jayaweera, Editor-In-Chief, IMPACT by IEEE Young Professionals

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Home | Contact & Support | Accessibility | Nondiscrimination Policy | Feedback | Privacy & Opting Out of Cookies

A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.
© Copyright 2015 – 2020 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.