Editorial Team

We are a small group of individuals committed to bringing unique stories of Young Professionals across the globe to IMPACT – the online voice of the international IEEE Young Professionals community. Our team is comprised of engineers from industry and academia with various engineering background disciplines. IMPACT contributions come from IEEE volunteers across the world. We invite you to join the IMPACT team! From the simple week-to-week tasks such as editing new articles, modifying the site, and keeping our social networks up-to-date, to the long-term efforts such as finding new ways to engage members, building our team, and re-envisioning the look of the site, there are plenty of opportunities to contribute in ways that interest you. E-mail the editor-in-chief dinuka.tharangi@ieee.org to apply.


Dinuka Tharangi Jayaweera
Dinuka Jayaweera is a Computer Science graduate and currently works as a Project Manager. She is a passionate volunteer and a student mentor who has ushered programs for the betterment of youth and she actively engages in activities for empowering women in technology. She has served IEEE at the local level for IEEE Young Professionals and IEEE Industry Applications Society. Currently, she is the Treasurer of the IEEE Industry Applications Society Sri Lanka Section Chapter. As the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Young Professionals publication - IMPACT, her vision is to help its readership grow both personally and professionally by publishing educational content and highlighting activities of IEEE Young Professional around the globe.


Jenny Legaspi
Jenny Legaspi earned her MSEE from Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, MA and is currently a PhD student studying Systems Engineering. While she originally worked in the semiconductor industry, she has shifted her research interests to the intersection of policy and engineering. She has volunteered with IEEE at local, regional, and national levels working with both Women in Engineering and Young Professionals. As an avid rock climber, she is also an ambassador for the Ladies Climbing Coalition. While it can be difficult at times, Jenny values work-life balance and encourages others to seek that balance in their lives. She enjoys giving career and life guidance to others when it is requested. She is eager to help others find fulfilment in their careers.
Noor E Karishma Shaik
Noor E Karishma Shaik is currently a PhD student at the University of Melbourne. She is associated with IEEE since 2014 as a member, volunteer, and scientific contributor. She served as Secretary in Executive Committee at IEEE Women in Engineering Affinity Group at Kharagpur Section during 2015. She later served as Editor-in-Chief at TechBytes, a student webzine developed by various sub-units under IEEE Kharagpur Section for two years. She has obtained her Master's degree in the domain of VLSI Design at Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur. Her research interests include Hardware Implementation of Image and Video Processing Technologies for Space Applications. She enjoys coding for work and fun too. In her leisure time, she loves to develop web and mobile applications for humanitarian projects. She is highly passionate about increasing women’s participation in computer science and related engineering technologies to aid communities around the world.
Shah Faisal
Shah Faisal is from Pakistan and a PhD Research Scholar in Electrical Engineering at Southeast University Nanjing P.R. China. He is awarded the Chinese Scholarship by the Chinese Scholarship Council (CSC) from the Chinese government for Master and PhD studies. He is a Graduate Student Member of IEEE and IEEE-PES, and an IEEE Ambassador and volunteer for different events organised by IEEE. Currently, he is an IEEE PES-YP representative for Asia and Pacific-China Region 10. He is a registered engineer with Pakistan Engineering Council, Elsevier Journal Referee and worked as an engineer, lecturer, and intern in different organisations in Pakistan. His areas of research and interests include power engineering, power system, integrated energy system, renewable energy system, and power to gas system, electric vehicles and wireless power transfer.
Yang Li
Yang Li is a Researcher at the automatic control group of the Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden, and also holds an Associate Professor position with the Wuhan University of Technology, China. He obtained his PhD degree from the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore in 2015, and was with the Queensland University of Technology, Australia from 2016 to 2018. He has been associated with IEEE since 2011 as a member, scientific contributor, and volunteer. His current research interests include modelling, control, and applications of renewable generation and energy storage in the electricity and transport sectors. He is passionate about helping young engineering graduates to reach the positions of professional maturity.

Home | Contact & Support | Accessibility | Nondiscrimination Policy | Feedback | Privacy & Opting Out of Cookies

A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.
© Copyright 2015 – 2021 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.