Early Career Award with Electron Devices
February 15, 2017

Awarded annually to an individual to promote, recognize and support Early Career Technical Development within the Electron Devices Society’s field of interest

Prize:   An award of US$1,000, a plaque; and if needed, travel expenses not to exceed US$1,500 for a recipient residing in the US and not to exceed US$3,000 for a recipient residing outside the US to attend the award presentation.

Eligibility:   Candidate must be an IEEE EDS member and must have received his/her first professional degree within the 10th year defined by the August 15 nomination deadline and has made contributions in an EDS field of interest area.  Nominator must be an IEEE EDS member.  Previous award winners are ineligible.

Selection/Basis for Judging:  The nominator will be required to submit a nomination package comprised of the following:

  • The nomination form that is found on the EDS web site, containing such technical information as the nominee’s contributions, accomplishments and impact on the profession or economy and a biographical description.
  • A minimum of two and a maximum of three letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the candidate’s technical contributions and other credentials, with emphasis on the specific contributions and their impacts.

The basis for judging includes such factors as: the demonstration of field leadership in a specific area; specific technical contribution(s); impact on the profession or economy; originality; breadth; inventive value; publications; honors; and other appropriate achievements.

Schedule:   Nominations are due to the EDS Executive Office on August 15th each year. The candidate will be selected by the end of September, with presentation to be made in December.

Presentation:   At the   EDS Awards Dinner that is held in conjunction with the International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM) in December.  The recipient will also be recognized at the December EDS BoG Meeting.

Nomination Form:  Complete the nomination form by August 15, 2017.  All endorsement letters should be sent to l.riello@ieee.org by the deadline.

For more information contact:        l.riello@ieee.org or visit:  http://eds.ieee.org/early-career-award.html


Early Career Award Winners
2016 Nagarajan Raghavan SUTD Singapore University of Technology & Design, Singapore
2015 Mayank Shrivastava Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2014 Can Bayram University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2013 Runsheng Wang Peking University, Beijing, China
2012 Jin-Woo Han NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA, USA
2011 Mina Rais-Zadeh

Ravi Todi

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor MI, USA

IBM, Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

2010 Chen Yang University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA
2009 Chi On Chui University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 comment

  1. Are you eligible if you got a PhD in 2010? Or does this go back to undergraduate?

Home | Contact & Support | Accessibility | Nondiscrimination Policy | Feedback | Privacy & Opting Out of Cookies

A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.
© Copyright 2015 – 2022 IEEE – All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the IEEE Terms and Conditions.